Upazila polls: 14-Candidates reject elections-calls strike


BdChronicle Desk-   At least 14 candidates most of them BNP backed boycotted their election in Gauranadi upazila of Barisal, Sujanagar Upazila of Pabna, Kapasia in Gazipur and Shailkupa upazila of Jhenidah district on Wednesday on various allegations.   In the respective upazilas the local BNP also calls shutdown protesting the corruption in the ongoing upazila elections.    In Barisal, six pro-BNP chairman and vice-chairman candidates boycotted the election in Gauranadi upazila alleging that the supporters of ruling party candidates were obstructing their followers from casting their votes.   BNP-supported chairman candidate Abul Hossain Mia, two of its rebel chairman candidates Lokman Khan and Nur-e-Alam Vice Chairman candidate Mehidi Hasan and rebel candidate Sharif Zahid Sazzad and vice chairman candidate Taslima Begum declared their election boycott at a joint press briefing around 09:45am.   In Jhenidah, pro-BNP chairman candidate Rakibul Hasan of Shailkupa upazila boycotted the election as supporters of ruling party candidates prevented his supporters from casting their votes.   In Sujanagar of Pabna, BNP backed chairman candidate Jakir Hossain Chunnu boycotted the election alleged that his agents pushed out by the ruling Awami League backed candidate and fake votes casted.   In Kapasia Upazila of Gazipur, the ruling party backed candidate Motaher Hossain’s activists beaten up a presiding officer and snatched ballot box in several centers. The same situation is prevailing in Kazipur Upazila of Sirajganj district and in Bhola and Gaibandha district.   The first phase upazila election 97 upazilas of 40 districts started at 8 am today  and the voting will continue till 4pm without any break.



Source: BD Chronicle