Vote rigging, election irregularities mar Singra Upazila polls; BNP candidate boycotts polls


Ruling Awami League-backed candidates were unofficially declared elected after the vote count of the Singra and Gurudaspur upazila parishad elections, reported UNB from Natore. In Singra upazila parishad election, chairman candidate Shafiqul Islam bagged 94,754 votes while his nearest contestant BNP-backed candidate Fayjunnesha Putul got 63,848 votes. In Gurudaspur upazila vice-chairman poll, Awami-backed candidates Alal Sheikh was elected as vice chairman with 21, 813 votes while his nearest BNP-backed candidate got 16,415 votes.

The polling began at 8:00am and continued till 4:00pm without any break. State Minister for Information and Communication Technology Junaid Ahmed Palak cast his vote at Gol-e-Afroz Government College at about 9:30 am.

Allegations over vote rigging and election irregularities, however, marred the polls and the BNP backed candidate later announced her boycott of the vote in a press conference. According to a detailed report by Manabzamin, there were allegations of election centre takeover by Awami League men, incidents of forcing out BNP candidate men from the centres and reported incidents of openly stamping of ballots in favor of the ruling party AL candidate. On the other hand, police also arrested 2 people over casting a fake vote while two people were arrested by the striking force over creating commotion at a voting centre.