Print media “Editors’ Council” for press freedom formed

editors council

The editors of almost all the highest-circulated newspapers formed an “Editors’ Council” to play active role in protecting press freedom, developing professional journalism and strengthening the editorial institution.

Editor of the Samakal Golam Sarwar, Editor of The Daily Star Mahfuz Anam and Editor of the Manabzamin Matiur Rahman Chowdhury were unanimously elected president, general secretary and treasurer respectively of the newly formed council.

The members of the Editors’ Council are Mahbubul Alam of The Independent, Anwar Hossain of Ittefaq, Motiur Rahman of Prothom Alo, Reazuddin Ahmed of News Today, AMM Bahauddin of Inqilab, AHM Moazzem Hossain of Financial Express, Nurul Kabir of the New Age, Shyamal Dutta of Bhorer Kagoj, Imdadul Haq Milon of Kaler Kantho, Noim Nizam of Bangladesh Protidin, Khondoker Muniruzzaman of Sangbad, Alamgir Mohiuddin of Naya Diganta, Mostafa Kamal Majumder of The New Nation, Mozammel Haque of Korotoa, MA Malek of Azadi and Taslim Uddin Chowdhury of Purbokone.

The constitution and rules and regulations of the council will be formulated soon.

A report of the English Daily said that the decision to form the council came at a meeting at The Daily Star office on May 20, presided over by Editor of The Independent Mahbubul Alam.