Aleem Dar under fire after his no-ball call ‘helps’ Rohit Sharma hit century


Melbourne, March 19: Umpires at ICC World Cup 2015 have been under fire for making few errors and now another blunder was witnessed during the India-Bangladesh quarter-final at Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) today.

Indian opener Rohit Sharma benefitted from a poor decision by Pakistan’s experienced and award-winning umpire Aleem Dar and Bangladesh were robbed of a wicket. Dar was also involved in another umpiring error in the World Cup game between Australia and England. (Special 100 for Dhoni) File photo: Aleem Dar (right) Dar, standing at square-leg, indicated the ball had been above Rohit’s waist and his colleague Ian Gould called it. However, replays suggested that Rubel Hossain’s delivery was not a beamer. At the time, Rohit was on 90 and India 195/3 in 39.3 overs. This happened on the 4th ball of the 40th over. (Semi-final schedule) The no-ball call resulted in Bangladesh losing out on a wicket. Rohit played that ball towards deep midwicket and was caught by Imrul Kayes. (Captain Mortaza speaks on Dar’s error) It was a lucky escape for Rohit. The right-hander went on to complete his century. Spin legend Shane Warne, who was doing commentary at the time, was clearly upset with the decision. “That should have been a wicket. The ball was under the waist,” said Warne. “He (Aleem Dar) has lost his confidence,” Warne added. Even former India batsman VVS Laxman also felt it was not a no-ball. “Bad decision from Gould,was definitely not above the waist.Lucky break for rohit. this can b the difference in getting xtra 20 runs #CWC2015,” he tweeted. Bangladesh lost the quarter-final by 109 runs. India progressed to the semi-final and will face either Australia or Pakistan on March 26 in Sydney. And fans were not happy with Aleem Dar. Here are some of the reactions from Twitter. His name was trending on Twitter The ball which created controversy