Polls time violence kills 12 across the country


BdChronicle Desk:

At least 12 people dead in Rangpur, Dinajpur, Feni, Nilphamari, Laxmipur and Munshiganj districts in the ongoing polls time violences across the country on Sunday. Among the deceased, three were killed in Dinajpur, two each in Rangpur and Nilphamari and Feni districts, one each in Laxmipur, Thakurgaon and Munshiganj districts.

Three people, including an Ansar member and a BNP leader, were killed in separate incidents of election violence in Dinajpur.

Besides, two activists of Jamaat-e-Islami and its student wing Islami Chhatra Shibir were killed in police firing at Deuti in Pirgachha upazila in Rangpur, while two Jamaat men died in clashes between police and anti-election activists at Balapara village in Jaldhaka and Dimla upazilas in Nilphamari.

In Feni, a local leader of Jubo Dal and another of Chhatra Dal, were killed and 15 others, including four with bullets, were injured in a clash with police at North Charchandia village in Sonagazi upazila while an unidentified youth died as he fell into a water body after being chased by police in Tongibari upazila in Munshiganj.

Meanwhile, an activist of Islami Chhatra Shibir, the student wing of Jamaat-e-Islami, and 10 people, including three with bullets, was injured in a clash with police at Border Bazar in Ramganj upazila in Laxmipur.

In the capital, at least five people, including an Ansar member, were injured as anti-election activists exploded over 40 crude bombs near different polling stations during the voting.

Meanwhile, polling at 144 centers of the 14 districts was postponed due to destruction of those in arson attacks by anti-election activists, sources at the Election Commission Secretariat said.



Source: BD Chronicle