Editors Form ‘Editors’ Council’ For Freedom of Media

May 25, 2013

Aimd to play an active role in protecting the full freedom of newspapers and right to freedom of expression, professional advancement of journalism and strengthening the editorial institution,  editors of different newspapers of the country have launched a new platform titled “Editors’ Council” today.
Daily Samakal editor Golam Sarwar selected as the president of the Council at a meeting held on Monday at the Daily Star office with Independent editor Mahbubul Alam in the chair.
Just after the meeting, in a press release it said that Daily Star editor Mahfuz Anam was made general secretary of the Council while daily Manabjamin Editor Matiur Rahman Chowdhury treasurer.
The other members of the committee are: Mahbubul Alam (Independent), Anwar Hossain (Ittefaq), Matiur Rahman (Prothom Alo), Reaz Uddin Ahmed (News Today), AMM Bahauddin (Inquilab), AHM Moazzem Hossain (Financial Express), Nurul Kabir (New Age), Shaymal Dutta (Bhorer Kagoj), Emdadul Huq Milion (Kaler Kantha), Nayeem Nizam (Bangladesh Protidin), Khandaker Muniruzzaman (Sangbad), Alamgir Mahiuddin (Naya Diganta), Mostafa Kamal Majumder (New Nation), Mozammel Huq (Korotoa), MA Malek (Azadi) and architect Taslim Uddin Chowdhury (Purbokone).

Source: Taza Khobor