EC declares voting cancellation in 148 centres

Staff Correspondent:   Voting in 148 polling centers in 14 districts has been postponed following arson attacks on the eve of the 10th national election on Saturday.   According to the Election Commission Secretariat said polling at 148 centers of the 12 districts has been postponed due to destruction of the centers in arson attacks by anti-election activists.   The postponed centers are three in Thakurgaon-1, sixteen in Dinajpur-4, one in Dinajpur-5, five in Nilphamari-1, four in Nilphamari-3, one in lalmonirhat-1, three in Rangpur-3 and 41 in Rangpur-4 constituency.   Besides that two in Gaibandha-1, twenty one in Gaibandha-4, three in Habiganj-2, four in Comilla-9, three in Feni-3, three in Laxmipur-1, two in Chittagong-15, nine in Bogra-7 and three in Jamalpur-4 constituency polling centers closed due to the ongoing vandalism and arson attacks.   Over 100 polling stations were set afire in different districts, including the capital, from Friday night to Saturday evening as anti-election activists continued their arson attacks in their bid to resist the election being held amid the opposition’s boycott.



Source: BD Chronicle