All 50 aspirants are likely to be elected unopposed

BdChronicle Desk-   Aspirants to fill the 50 parliamentary reserved seats for women will be elected uncontested as they have no rivals. This picture emerged on Sunday, the last day of the submission of the nomination papers, Election Commission official Mihir Sarwar Morshed said.   The largest ruling party Awami League nominated 39 candidates, HM Ershad-led Jatiya Party six, the coalition of 16 independent candidates three and one each from Workers Party and Jasad.   In making a single change in the original list the AL nominated Amina Ahmed dropping Suchitra Tonchongya, UNB reports.   The AL candidates are Selina Jahan Lita, Advocate Safura Begum Rumi, Advocate Hosne Ara Lutfa Dalia, Advocate Umme Kulsum Smriti, Begum Akhter Jahan, Selina Begum Swapna, Selina Akhter Banu, Laila Arjuman Banu, Shirin Nayeem Punam, Kamrul Laila Jolly, Happy Boral, Rifat Amin, Nasima Ferdousi, Alhaj Lutfunnesa, Mamtaz Begum Advocate, Advocate Tarana Halim, Monwara Begum, Mahjabin Khaled, Fatema Zohra Rani, Dilara Mahbub Asma, Fatema Tuzzohura, Fazilatunnesa Indira, Puni Khan, Sanjida Khanam, Sabina Akhter Tuhin, Rahima Akhter, Advocate Hosne Ara Bably, Kamrun Nahar Chowdhury Lovely, Nilufar Jafar Ullah, Rokhsana Yasmin Chhuti, Advocate Navana Akhter, Asmatul Kibria Keya Chowdhury, Shamsun Nahar Begum Advocate, Fazilaunnesa Bappy, Wasifa Ayesha Khan, Jahanara Begum Surma, Sabiha Nahar Begum, Firoza Begum Chinu and Amena Ahmed.   The six Jatiya Party candidates are Nur-E Hasna Lily Chowdhury, Mahzabin Morshed, Merina Rahman, Rawshan Ara Mannan, Shahanara Begum and Khurshed Ara Haque. Lutfa Taher, wife of late Col Taher is from Jasad and the Workers Party’s candidate is Hazera Khatun.   The AL general secretary and LGRD minister Syed Ashraful Islam on Sunday noon submitted a list of 41 aspirants of the AL-led six-party parliamentary alliance to the returning officer at the Election Commission Secretariat.   Since there is no rival contestant the scrutiny (set for March 12) and the withdrawal of nomination papers (on March 18) are just a formality.   According to rules, the number of reserved seats is allocated among the political parties and the alliance as per the proportion of their representation to parliament.

Source: BD Chronicle